Inspired by the Botanical Gardens   2 comments

After studying neuroanaotmy a bit in the morning I decided I’d brave the NYC subways and relax in the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens. It was a great choice! My favorite parts were the bonsai tree exhibit and the herb garden. Here are a few not so polished poems I wrote sitting on a bench beneath rows of trees in the park. Good thing I’m better at science than writing…

Roses Before the Rain

Glaring up towards the dusty clouds,

Crowded and thirsty.

Waiting for a food drop,

In a refugee camp.

A splash of rain for each,

But not a bite more.

The rainbow sprawls and recedes.

The sun sets and rises.

And they glare up into the brilliant blue,

Still crowded and thirsty,

And dying.

… The next one was a far stretch paralleling the bonsai tree with improperly raising a child…

Stunted

From the promise of a dry seed,

given drips of hope, words of praise and daily attention.

To the first green twig,

clipped to a stub, drained of potential and desire.

Bonsai.

From the fuzzy sheets of the crib,

given sips of milk, songs of love and daily kisses.

To the first malicious spank,

bruised on the bottom, devoid of emotion and empathy.

Psychopath.

I wish I could write poems in my head while running. Sometimes I think of good lines, but then they disappear three steps later 😦

Posted September 11, 2011 by bluelightening in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Inspired by the Botanical Gardens

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey! So I dunno if blogspot lets you respond to individual comments….if it does then I haven’t figured it out yet lol…but I wanted to say hi and thanks for reading and introducing yourself! I think that’s pretty awesome that you’re in med school, i ALMOST went that route myself πŸ™‚ – I love the Philly half, awesome race, have you ever done it before?? And as for your question, I think i’d love to live/work in New England, but probably more in the Boston area- Maine has its beautiful spots but most of it’s really poor and the economy is really really bad up there hahaha.

    BTW I like that poem! Unpolished is always better in my opinion – definitely more real. πŸ™‚

    • Hey, so I’ve never done the Philly half before. I’m super excited for it though. One of my roommates is doing the full things so I sort of feel like a slacker but my body starts to fall apart more easily so I wasn’t sure about the training.

      I also really like New England (grew up in CT). Have you ever lived in the Boston area before? I’m super curious about it! NYC is a little too much for me, haha.

Leave a comment