Heaven is to hell as …   Leave a comment

So I haven’t written anything creative in a a few days, and I’m not feeling inspired now, so I will rant about the awkwardness of physical therapy massages for a bit as I sit icing for the 4th time today.

I used to think of a massage as a relaxing thing, one to take stress away after a hard day of labor, or one to tease out the post-workout knots. After tonight’s massage for my recent injury, I’m going to make a rude analogy. Heaven is to hell as an orgasm is to a physical therapy massage. If you knew me, you’d know that is nothing I’d ever say in person. But laying there  on the table yelping in pain as the therapist literally made little knots of muscle convulse in my leg and hip, I couldn’t but make that comparison in my mind. That said, I went to therapy with a tingling down my whole leg, and left with nothing but a cold spot from the ice pack left on a few minutes too long. I was beginning to doubt physical therapy, but after that I’m willing to keep giving it a try.

Next time I need to remember not to mention I am a medical student though. Everything they do is now a test for me… “so what muscle am I stretching now?” If we had learned anatomy through physical therapy I would have loved it much more!

Nothing else new really. I can’t wait to run normally again. I want to sprint around like a crazy little kid, haha.

Posted September 30, 2011 by bluelightening in Uncategorized

Leave a comment