3 Seconds of creativity… and panic/excitement about life   2 comments

Well I just wasted two hours looking at possible schedules for next year. I meant to write a lot more because I was feeling creative, but apparently the creativity was drained when I had a mini-panic about my future. That said, I’m super excited for rotations to start. I’m a little sick of being a student.

So here is a little about one of the characters, Brita, who I’m going to model after someone with histrionic PD, meaning they are dramatic and attention seeking… Maybe I should actually consider psych as a career, nah!

Brita sang “Tale as old as time…” as she twirled around in pirouettes on the linoleum floor in front of the TV. She had finished watching Beauty and the Beast for precisely the 54th time since school ended in late June, and it was only the middle of July. Still, with four working parents, the step Mom and Dad included, Brita hardly had anything else to do stuck at home all day with Cindy, who had not stopped texting her boyfriend since the minute she greedily snatched up her first pay check. Cindy sat on the far end of the couch closest to the air conditioner with her freshly painted toe-nails dangling over the edge towards the cool breeze. Brita spun faster, turning from her sun-kissed summer color to an off shade of green more resembling a washed out leprechaun. Her nasal voice got louder, to the point that the chandelier in the room over threatened to fragment and rain to the floor. And then she dropped to the ground, sparing the glass crystals above, but leaving an egg sized bump on her left elbow. Cindy barely noticed as the yelp became a choked cry and then a furious wail.

Posted September 15, 2011 by bluelightening in Uncategorized

2 responses to “3 Seconds of creativity… and panic/excitement about life

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love your writing!!! So refreshing to see a med student with some creativity (all of my friends who were pre-med were just hardcore science, hated fiction lol).

    You asked me about good elliptical workouts (ugh and that SUCKS your injured!!)….Usually if I really want to get in a good workout, I do intervals. Right now I’m liking the 10 min warmup + 45 mins of intervals: 2 mins hard, 1 min easy – and 5 mins cooldown (but you can extend it if you want to make the workout longer!). For longer intervals, I usually do 4-5 mins hard and 1-2 mins easy. Nothing too fun I guess….sometimes since I listen to music I’ll alternate a few really fast songs with a slower song and do higher resistance on the slow song haha. Or you could let your iPod choose your songs for you :P…sometimes its more cruel than you want it to be…Not the most precise way to do your intervals but it’s definitely more fun than timing them!

    • Thanks so much!!! I’m going to try that workout tomorrow if I get up on time. I only have an hour in the gym in the morning since it opens at 7 and I have class at 9am, but I should be able to get most of that in. I’m looking forward to running again soon even if it has to be slowly on flat ground. Apparently that is the next step.

Leave a comment